Review of Google Reader

I’ve been using Google Reader for only a few days, but I must say, I like it….with reservations.

For me, the biggest challenge, has been to remember to use the reader once I’ve finished checking my email. The habit of going to the individual websites via my bookmarks has been hard to break. However, I am slowly, but surely weening myself of the teet as it were.

I do like the convenience of having all my favourite sites centralised in one place. It not only saves time, but also highlights stories that may be of interest to me. The design of the homepage could do with a splash of sexiness as it is rather bland.

The one criticism that comes to mind is the big brother effect. By that I mean I’m not entirely comfortable with the mighty Google overseeing my web habits. Privacy is something to cherish, so I’m not too keen for all of the sites I visit to be added to my subscription. The next thing I know is they’ll be sending me emails telling me they think I might find a particular website of interest. Much like  Amazon.

Anyway, I’ll keep using it for now and see where this all leads.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

